Leadership that Makes a Difference. The President’s Award: Fmr. US President, William J. Clinton

Date: Wednesday, June 19, 2013, 09:30 - 11:15
Location: Ussishkin Hall


Morning Plenary: Leadership that Makes a Difference.


The agendas of leaders around the globe are laden with challenges. Their world is not a theoretical one: the pressing questions that land on their desks require practical answers. They work in a demanding arena that is full of dangers, political difficulties and the painful necessity to decide between alternatives. Only a few succeed in rising to the level of historic leadership that contributes significantly to shaping humanity’s tomorrow.  This plenary gives us an opportunity to learn about leadership that makes a difference.



Opening Remarks:


Mr. Aaron Frenkel, Monaco:

Aaron G. Frenkel is the Honorary Chairman of the fifth Israeli Presidential Conference. Frenkel is an entrepreneur, philanthropist and the principal of Loyd’s group of companies dealing in aerospace, hi-tech, and real estate developments. Frenkel serves as the Honorary Consul of the Republic of Croatia in Jerusalem, is the President of Limmud FSU, and is a Fellow Member of the Tel-Aviv Museum of Art. He has been decorated with the French Legion d’honneur by the President of France and the Mecenate of Russia by the President of the Russian Federation.





Ms. Dana Weiss, Israel:

Dana Weiss is the presenter of the weekend news on Channel Two Israel. Previously she was the host of “Meet the Press” on the same channel. She is also a documentary producer, investigative journalist and a lawyer. Weiss is a Guest Lecturer at the Sammy Ofer School of Communications at the Interdisciplinary Center (IDC) in Herzliya.





Rt. Hon. Tony Blair, UK:

The Rt. Hon. Tony Blair is the official envoy of the Quartet to the Middle East and the Former Prime Minister of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and leader of Britain’s Labor Party. He is the founder of the Tony Blair Faith Foundation, Tony Blair Africa Governance Initiative and the Tony Blair Sports Foundation. Amongst his many accolades, he is the recipient of the Congressional Gold Medal, the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the Dan David Prize and the Liberty Medal.


Mayor Rahm Emanuel, USA:

Mayor Rahm Emanuel, USA, is the 55th Mayor of Chicago. Emanuel previously served as the White House Chief of Staff in President Barack Obama’s administration and was for three terms in the U.S. House of Representatives representing Chicago’s 5th District. Prior to being elected to Congress, Emanuel served as a key member of the Clinton White House from 1993 to 1998, rising to serve as Senior Advisor to the President for Policy and Strategy.


H.E. Mr. Shimon Peres, Israel:

H.E. Mr. Shimon Peres is the President of the State of Israel. Peres served as a Member of Knesset for 48 years, the longest term of service in the history of the Israeli Knesset. He served as Minister in 12 cabinets and served twice as Prime Minister (1984-1986, 1995-1996), Deputy Minister of Defense under Ben Gurion (1959-1965), Treasury Minister (1988-1990), Minister of Defense (1974-1977, 1995-1996), and Foreign Minister (1986-1988, 2001-2002). In 2007,  Shimon Peres was elected to serve as the ninth President of the State of Israel.




The President’s Award: Former US President, William J. Clinton


The President’s Award is the Israeli highest civil distinction conferred since 2012 under the auspices of President Shimon Peres on exceptional individuals and organizations that have made an outstanding contribution to the State of Israel or to humanity, through their talents, services, or in any other form.


The conferment of the Award was inspired by worldwide and well-founded traditions, such as the American Presidential Medal of Freedom and the French Legion of Honor. It enables the President of Israel to express his appreciation and esteem, on behalf of the Israeli people, to deserving individuals, and to motivate others to contribute their talents and activities for the well-being of Israel and for the sake of tikkun olam, putting the world to rights. An advisory committee presents the President with appropriate nominees for the Award.


Thus far the Award was conferred, inter alia, on U.S. President Barack Obama, Former U.S. Secretary of State, Dr. Henry Kissinger, Maestro Zubin Mehta, Rabbi Adin Even Yisrael-Steinsaltz and the Rashi Foundation.



The Hon. William J. Clinton, USA:

The Hon. William J. Clinton was the 42nd President of the United States of America. After leaving the White House, President Clinton established the William J. Clinton Foundation with the mission to improve global health, strengthen economies, promote healthier childhoods, and protect the environment by fostering partnerships among governments, businesses, nongovernmental organizations (NGOs), and private citizens. He has also worked alongside former Presidents George H. W. Bush, and George W. Bush, in disaster relief efforts for the tsunami in South Asia, Hurricane Katrina in the United States, and the earthquake in Haiti.